Car accidents can happen fast, and it’s important that you are prepared with proper knowledge and insurance.
In the event that you cause an accident, you can become responsible to others for their injuries and/or for property damage. This is where your auto insurance liability limits come into play. Most states, including Pennsylvania, require that you purchase a minimum amount of bodily injury and property damage coverage. However, purchasing only state minimum limits may not be enough. Having adequate liability coverage can be the difference between being well protected and potential financial disaster.
Pennsylvania requires minimum insurance coverage of 15/30/5. What does that mean?
Minimum liability limits of 15/30/5 means the insurance company will provide bodily injury liability coverage up to $15,000 per person injured in any one accident, $30,000 for all persons injured in any one accident, and up to $5,000 for property damages in any one accident.
If I have minimum limits, what happens if I have an accident and damages exceed my policy limits?
Your insurance company will only pay up to the amount of your policy limits. So, if you’ve chosen Pennsylvania’s minimum property damage limits of $5,000 and cause an accident which results in $25,000 of property damage, the insurance company will only pay $5,000, and you will be responsible for paying the remaining $20,000.
Why would I want to buy more insurance than the state law requires?
Auto insurance is your safety net and works best if it provides proper protection. Carrying state minimum protection may be more affordable in the short term. However, because you could be personally liable for damages or injuries to others which exceed your policy limits, you should seriously consider purchasing liability insurance with limits higher than what is required by state law.
Is increasing my limits right for me?
Increasing coverage limits may not be as costly as you think. If you’re interested in protecting you and your family’s present well-being and financial future, and securing a little more peace of mind, as your independent insurance agent, we’re here to help answer any questions and help you review your available options.
The bottom line– if you’re legally responsible for damages or injuries to others which exceed your coverage limits, you’ll be responsible for the difference. The time to discover you don’t have adequate insurance or coverage is BEFORE you’re involved in an accident, not AFTER.
Call Members 1st Insurance Services today for a FREE quote!*
Personal Insurance (800) 283-2328, ext. 5245
Medicare, Long-Term Care, or Group Health Insurance: (800) 283-2328, ext. 6269
*Insurance services available to PA and MD residents only.
**Insurance products are not federally insured and are not obligations of or guaranteed by Members 1st FCU, Members 1st Insurance Services, or any other affiliated entity.